A couple of corrections for the 'Two Months of Soylent" post from a researcher

Hi, I’m an obesity researcher with a background in nutritional science and I noticed a couple of mistakes in the “Two Months of Soylent” and “What’s In Soylent” posts that I thought needed addressing.

• “Extras not considered essential:Omega-3 Fatty Acids(750mg)”:
    Omega-3 fatty Acids (FA) are indeed essential, as we cannot synthesize them and omega-3 deficiencies may result in neural, dermal and psychological dysfunction, as well as increased risk of cardiovascular disease and birth defects. I thought this was important to point out, as I have noticed many DIY soylenters have not included omega-3 in their diets. The best omega-3 oils to use are fish oils, as plant based oils, such as flax, must be converted to DHA and EPA and the conversion step is competively inhibited by other the essential FA, linoleic acid, an omega-6 FA. Additionally, I am worried that the use of olive oil as the sole source of FA’s may result in an imbalance of FA (FA composition varies between each brand of olive oil) and I would encourage you to use a combination of plant oils, such as safflower and peanut. Omega-6 and omega-3 FA should be in a ratio between 6:1 and 4:1. to avoid excess arachodonic acid and the associated inflammatory effects.

• "Calorie restriction for longevity"