A question of RDA

This may sound silly but all RDAs seem to be based on an 18-25 year old subject with a “healthy” weight. My problem here is that I am not the average 25 year old man. I weigh a good 50lbs more than he does. I’m also a gym rat. Now I know I’m not a nutritional scientist, nor a biologist or chemist of any variety but it seems to me that what is fit for a man who is 3/4 of my weight may not quite enough for myself.

I’m probably not the biggest soylent fan either, there are almost certainly very large, very strong people out there interested in soylent but they don’t seem to be doing much posting other than asking questions about protein intake. I know I’m going to have to increase the protein by quite a bit if only to hit my calorific maintenance. My question is am I getting enough iron, or selenium, or zinc? Being that I am a much larger person are my nutritional needs not larger?

Can someone with some letters after their name help allay my fears that even with soylent I might have some issues with deficiencies?

I’m not sure anyone frequenting these forums have any nutritional or dietary qualifications including myself. Even Rob and Co don’t have any valid qualifications in nutrition but they have $272k for their campaign. With that said…

When body building they tell you to eat more protein and some others will say you need more carbs too as you need carbs to process proteins but they don’t tell you that you need more selenium or iron or zinc do they? Nope, just proteins and carbs. I read some articles about that eating more protein isn’t always the best option and that eating icecream would help more due to a specific mix of fats and proteins. Go figure.