A Soylent Mixing Machine & Business Model

As a high-end kickstarter tier, I’d really love to be able to buy a soylent mixing machine. Essentially, a robot to further remove me from the preparation of soylent, but allowing me to observe and modify it to conform to my shifting dietary needs.

I’d like an app that allows me to create, edit, and share variations on @rob’s original formula using a web browser or mobile device, so I can find my ideal formula if necessary.

When I run low on ingredients (and I should run low on them all at once), I’d like a replacement cartridge ready and waiting to be sent to me via the soylent website. I’d like to be able to subscribe to this service and constantly receive new cartridges for my soylent robot as needed.

Then, I’d like to be able to 3D print my own soylent mixing robot so I can put them in areas with high concentrations of homeless people.

Stretch goal? :smiley:

As a ex-mechanical/electrical engineer, I would be more than willing (and would love too) to do all the CAD/design work for the Soylent Robot Maker. I do have plenty of experience with micro-controllers to control this machine.

As far as 3D printing, doubt that will happen since we can’t even print complicated mechanical contraptions cost-effectively.

So, you click “high protein morning drink” on your tablet/phone app and your robot pulls down the recipe for that mixture from either a local or web database and in a few seconds, the robot is away making your morning meal. Getting pretty out there, but surely doable…

Cool! I’d love to see your designs. In my mind, it’s made of individually sized, gravity-fed containers that all pour into a common mixing area.

It seems like much of this is just plastic containers, which could be 3D printed. You’d still need to buy the Soylent robot brain in order to mix anything, but it could be an effective way to cut costs or reduce Soylent’s participation on the overal supply chain (so it can focus on the mixture itself).