Absolute noob here looking for advice

Hello everyone…

I have recently run across mentions of Soylent in several of my news feeds and I am now curious enough to try it.

I have to admit that I am the type person that does need almost instant gratification when I decide to try an new idea or product and find it difficult to rationalize giving a company $300.00 US and waiting 10 to 12 weeks for fulfillment of my order. It makes me suspicious or at least concerned about the vendor.

An additional challenge I have is I live in Louisiana and we are not known for “health food” being plentiful, let’s face it we deep fry our vegetables in lard.

So here is my dilemma, what is the cheapest and quickest alternative to at least begin seeing if I can part take of the Soylent experience and see if it works and is tolerable to me?

I see lots of DIY recipes etc, but most seem to include figuring out spreadsheets, identifying the actual product and then sourcing it here… way to much work for me AND from what I can tell so far it would be prohibitively expensive as well as time consuming.

My expectations would be to replace 1 (eventually 2) meals a day with something much more healthy than my current diet.

Any constructive advice would be appreciated, snarky comments will not.

What I am looking for is a "recipe’ whose components can readily be obtained without having to resort to online ordering and “health food stores” (we have so few) and would prefer to avoid the expense of Whole Foods stores (ours also have a very low/non-existent inventory of flours, meals, etc. that seem to be needed for the recipes I have seen).

Taste would have to be tolerable at a general level and complexity low.

If there are suggestions for a “starter” diet plan that can at least put me on the path to success I am more likely to continue than if I have to jump through major hoops to attain my goals.