Absorption: Soylent versus other nutritional alternatives

One reason that people take foods rather than supplements is that they’re more absorptive.
How does Soylent encourage nutritional absorption in the body?

Diluted to a form that is consumed over the duration of a waking day is probably a good start. I assume it’s easier for the body to absorb nutrients that way than an entire supplement pill at once… I’m no expert however, and who knows how this effects mineral interactions with each other. Does it make them more likely to block each other? Or less likely? Depends on the mineral? Hmm. Questions.

Yeah this is one area where I’m optimistic but we definitely need more research. Complex interactions at play and even outside Soylent we seem to have a relatively flimsy grasp of how it all works in our bodies.

This is the part that worries me a little. If it’s the only thing I’m eating (more or less) then I want to be pretty sure I’m absorbing most of what’s in it.

Besides just paying attention to how I feel how would I know if I have a deficiency?

Blood tests!
They do cost some money and needles hurt, but I think everyone testing a prototype as a full replacement and for more than a week should have some tests done and talk about the results with a doctor, at least once, maybe 3-4 weeks in.

Just to be safe.

What specific tests would you recommend?

Personally I wouldn’t have the first idea about that, so I’ll quote from someone else (Rob’s blogposts):

“So…I’ll just ship you some of my batch. If you are willing to consume exclusively soylent, and get a CBC, chem panel, and lipid blood test before and after the week and share your results with me it’s on the house. Bonus points for getting a psych evaluation before and after. The brain is an organ.”