Additional Vitamins on 1/3-2/3 soylent days?

Just wondering, is it wise to take an additional multivitamin on days your meals are not 100% soylent?

My original plan was to take one 1-A-Day Men’s Multivitamin and one Omega-3 Fish Oil vitamins on days where only one or two of my meals consisted of Soylent. I would then skip the additional vitamins on days where I had Soylent for all three meals.

Any thoughts or concerns about whether or not this is a good idea, and why? I don’t want to overdo it with the vitamins, but I do want to make sure I get what I’m supposed to. Assume on those days where I have other food for my third meal, it will probably be not the best in terms of nutrition.

I’m not an expert, but personally, if you are going to take a multivitamin alongside partial Soylent, I would at least limit the multivitamin according to how much Soylent you have. 2/3 Soylent means you’re getting 2/3 of the RDA of pretty much everything. You might get away with only going 33% over, but 66% over seems more concerning to me.

If you can split it into thirds, or have only take it every nth day, I though that would be safest.

Or, for a more precise answer to your question, look up the maximum safe levels of each of the vitamins and add up the totals of your multivitamin with the Soylent totals. If it stays under, you should be safe. I’m very wary of excessively high vitamin amounts, in general, but that’s not based on anything concrete.

Hmm, I didn’t think about cutting up the pill. That makes sense and definitely possible for the multivitamin. The Fish Oil pill wouldn’t work. Of course some things in this multivitamin are ALREADY over 100% of the daily RDA which complicates things a bit more

The Fish oil is probably fine at full dose. I’ve gotten some good benefits from an extra 25% of the oil, and I’m not aware of any toxically high levels of it.