Agave Syrup as a low GI sweetener?

Inspirited last evening by @J_Jeffrey_Bragg concoction that includes maple syrup, I noticed I had some agave syrup lying around. Looking into it, it apparently has a very low glycemic index*.

I’m trying it in today’s mix, and so far it tastes pretty awesome. As far as numbers go, it adds nicely to calories without bumping up carbohydrates too high.

Thoughts?

*: I have no idea how accurate this source is.

(I am not a doctor/nutritionist/biologist/lawyer/whatever)

That doesn’t strike me as a good idea. From what I can tell, agave syrup is between 90% and 55% fructose, which explains its low GI, since only the liver can metabolize fructose. There’s a long, but fascinating, lecture on why fructose is one of the biggest problems of the western diet:

The problems the professor lists include dyslipidemia, insulin and leptin resistance, increased uric acid, and deposits of fat in the liver. While I agree that keeping the GI low is a good idea, and have personally been looking to alternatives to the maltodextrin I’ve been using, I don’t think high amounts of fructose is the answer. I’m limiting myself to something around 30g of fructose daily, which is about 2.5 apples, and making sure that I’m taking in fiber with it.

@mrob Looked at the article which seems to be a reasonably decent one as material from such websites goes. I’ve seen considerable controversy on agave syrup. What seems to emerge is that it is low GI because it is very high in fructose, around 70 to 90 percent, higher by a lot than the much-maligned HFCS. Some sources claim that naturally-occurring fructose is healthier than the fructose in processed foods. I’d be sceptical of that claim and look for proof.

Here’s a [WebMD article][1] that probably sums the question up as well as any; they take the position that sugar is sugar and there is little difference in “health benefits” of its various commercial guises. You pays your money and you takes your choice, I guess.