Appendicitis after using Soylent for 3 months

Hi

I’ve just recently had my appendix removed due to appendicitis (burst appendix). I’ve been using Soylent for about 3 months (since early November) for around 50-70% of my meals. I had the gas issues with 1.1 and 1.2, but as others have found, 1.3 seemed to have less gas issues. I also supplemented the Soylent with about 1 tbsp of psyllium seed husks to change stool consistency for the better.

I haven’t gone back to using Soylent since the appendicitis, which was nearly 3 weeks ago (I’m still recovering), however I do want to use it again and do miss its ease of preparation/consumption.

Just wondering if anyone else had any appendix issues or know of anything that I should be concerned about with Soylent’s use. Soylent may be completely unrelated to the appendicitis, but I just thought I’d ask here.

This Is Not A Medical Forum

This gets to the larger issue of, how do we know if something that started after someone began Soylent, be it good or bad, was caused by Soylent? Some good or bad things will happen even to people that don’t consume Soylent so when those things happen to people that do consume Soylent how do we know if there’s a causal relationship? I don’t know.

Since this is the first and only report of such an issue that I’ve heard of (or anything even remotely close), I doubt it’s related. Still only time and lots more data points can tell that for sure. Appendicitis does happen with fair frequency so… I’d say the odds are simply 100% that eventually someone on Soylent was going to have their appendix burst. Darn things! Someone should sue the manufacturer! Class action! Where’s the lawyers!? :smiley:

Yes, I expect that there is no relationship between Soylent and appendicitis and it would have happened anyway. Just throwing it out there anyway.

Ever since I got version 1.3, I’ve been having problems getting my car started. (joke)