Backpacking high miles with Soylent

I have a previous post about this topic speculating about it’s use. Now I have real world experience to share.

I have been using Soylent backpacking for a few months and many trips. My last trip Was backpacking Eagle Rock Loop In Arkansas. This trip is often done in three days but due to my work schedule, I had to do it in two days. We chose to hike near 20 miles the first day (Saturday) and the remaining miles the second day (Sunday). Because of a few wrong turns we ended up going 21 miles Saturday and 7.7 on Sunday.

I premeasured half bags of Soylent to take on the trail and brought extra oil to supplement the Calories a bit. I used a whole oil bottle with half a day’s Soylent in a one liter Nalgene bottle.

Saturday morning I ate a Mountain House breakfast (600 calories). During the day Saturday I drank my Nalgene of Soylent. On the last hill I felt a lack of energy. I usually feel this way when I need to eat rather than feeling hunger. I waited til dinner to eat since I didn’t want to mix more Soylent on the move. I had a Mountain House dinner (800 calories). I have been finding it difficult to eat dinner on the train with Soylent since I still feel full but I clearly needed the calories.

Sunday I woke and drank a third of my Soylent made with water treated with a Chlorine tablet at camp the previous night. Since we had a light day planned, I didn’t feel the need to drink more. We started on the trail at 0715 and I was hungry by 1000. I didn’t drink the remaining Soylent since there wasn’t a convenient way to get to my water bottle. My pack doesn’t have water bottle pockets and I use a Dromedary for water.

I have thought about using a bladder for Soylent but I don’t want to clean the hose. Since Soylent doesn’t have preservatives and I can’t control the temperature that I store it at, I’m afraid of rot.

One other person in our group had a DIY Soylent. Her version is higher calorie and keytogenic.