Creating Soylent as a group (UK)

I have no science knowledge and pretty much know I’ll screw up making Soylent. I’ll bet a) there are lots of people like me, b) there is someone reading this thing ‘geez… it’s really easy’.

Until the Kickstarter project is running and we can buy it properly how about a bunch of us get together and make some ourselves? I’m thinking pay for a couple of weeks worth of ingredients and we give whoever makes it maybe £25 per person or whatever makes it worthwhile for them to do. There must be someone happy to make ten people’s worth in a day for £250…

I guess someone might appear now to tell me that a couple of weeks worth for ten people would be a huge amount. I don’t know. Just tossing the idea out there - I’d pay someone to make it, others will do the same, I’m betting there is someone here in the UK with the skill to make it. Lets get together and pay them to do so.

Who’s with me?

Hmm… perhaps nobody is with me on this…

I’m in the UK and also very keen to start experimenting. I don’t have any specific chemistry experience but I’m reasonably geeky and have an industrial research chemist for a friend so may be able to hassle him for advice and/or supply contacts. I think the kickstarter is the way forward, but I think that will naturally be US centric for a fair time. I think a little UK experimentation is a good idea. Not sure where to start really…

I think the whole development process will be pretty long - it will depend on classification. For example if it needs to be approved by the FDA then it will have to go through some pretty rigorous testing. Then there is all the marketing and production angle. I wouldn’t expect anything sooner than 6 months, more likely 12. Obviously there can be independent research and testing alongside anything Rob puts in motion (as there already is) which will help support the main research and development stream, and hopefully give the more impatient among us something to get to grips with!