Per the latest blog post:
We have tried hard to find a suitable (in nutritional content, price, availability, etc) substitute for fish oil as a source of Omega 3s. Unfortunately, fish oil will be the one non-vegan ingredient in Soylent. But don’t fret! Soylent will be shipped with the oils separately (in 2oz vials that are mixed in to each daily batch), so vegans/vegetarians will be able to easily replace the Soylent oil blend with their own choice of oil. In the future we hope to offer a product that is 100% vegan, but we had to make this compromise for our initial formula.
For Soylent staff:
Is it possible for us to opt-out of recieving the fish oil at all? The qouted paragraph seems to misunderstand the concept of veganism, which is to not consume nor support the use of animal products. If we recieve the oil then certainly we can choose not to consume it, but the point would be moot. It’d still be sitting there being wasted after having already required the death of a fish…
Additionally - and this may be information included once the ingredients list is out - what type of fish oil is being used? Some vegetarians might be okay with krill-based oil for instance, though vegans would not.
For Soylent community:
Once the final ingredients list has been released, I should think we’ll want to locate a suitable(In that it has the same ratios and quantities that the ingredients list calls for) algae-based(As I’m not aware of any other valid source of DHA and EPA) oil to substitute. If I can locate such a source I will post it here.