Donating blood on Soylent

Has anybody had issues with donating blood on 100% official Soylent? This is my first time donating since starting, and I’m having some difficulties post-donation. I’ve never so much as felt tired before, so I’m not sure if it’s just a fluke, related to poor sleep, or because of the dietary differences of Soylent.

I sometimes feel weak after giving blood, I wonder if Soylent will cause me to sometimes feel weak after giving blood too!

I actually noticed the opposite. I’m not 100%, but I have been 80-90% most weeks since the beginning of the year. Without exception I have felt like crap for a couple of days after giving blood pre-soylent, but when I gave a few weeks ago I didn’t feel any different after than I did going in, I was pleasantly surprised. My blood work had improved also, so I’m pretty happy with the changes.

Have you been losing weight / dieting while on Soylent? Because those symptoms are also common for people who are on a reduced-calorie diet who give blood… and inadequate sleep will definitely make it harder to recover from any stressor.

I don’t think so? *looks at fat* I’m pretty sure that’s not it. Though the internet seems to think that I burn ~2700 calories a day. So if that’s true, I am on a “reduced calorie diet”. It felt weird from the beginning. I felt anxious about all the pokes, and normally I’m just “bleeding, shmeeding!” So yeah. It was a weird experience.

Official or DIY? If DIY, with recipe? People Chow-based recipes might be deficient in iron. The masa entry in that recipe lists 7.2 mg iron per 100 grams, apparently based on the USDA’s “enriched masa” entry, although every brand of masa I’ve actually seen for sale is much closer to the USDA’s “unenriched masa” entry (1.47 grams iron per 100 grams).

Sorry, I’m on official Soylent. I’ll edit my root post to clarify that.!

Try having some red meat. Your needs for iron are elevated after donating blood, so soylent’s level may not be optimal at that point.