First DIYer: Wanna help a newbie?

Hello and thank you so much for reading this post.

Long story made short: I live in one of the most expensive places in Canada and I need to lower my food costs ASAP (while being as healthy as possible).

I’m new to DIY soylent, I’ve been working on my recipe here:
Vancouver Island Chow V0.2

Some problems I’m having:

1. Where the heck is every one getting their Vitamin K? I’m having the hardest time fulfilling this important vitamin. I’ve searched the forum and the only decent thing to come up has been Soy Lecithin, but I’d have to use a grotesque amount to achieve the amount I want.

2. I’m low in Sulfur. Not sure if I’m entering my nutritional values incorrectly or if the recipes I’m mimicking overestimate theirs…

3. I can’t avoid going into the red-zone for Niacin. I’ve read about niacin flush and it doesn’t sound too bad, but I’d like to avoid if possible. Not sure if there is a way around this but I’m open to advice.

And, of course, if you skim the recipe and have any other suggestions I would love to hear them.

Thank you so much!

Perhaps you could look at what others have done and adapt the ingredients to what you can get in Canada.

https://diy.soylent.com/recipes/soylent-green-11

1. Max’s classic Bachelor Chow used soybean oil for fat, which provides a good amount of vitamin K. I don’t quite remember why I switched from soybean to canola in my own formulation. Price, maybe? Personally, I use THORNE D/K2 drops, which is cheap and provides K2.

2. Your whey protein does not list sulfur as a component, but through a couple amino acids you should get enough sulfur that you don’t need to supplement. You should edit the ingredient appropriately. More details in this post: