How do you use your Soylent?

OK tastes different than 1.3 that threw me for a loop, but I’m getting over it.

Here is how my wife and I use Soylent. w

We spread a week’s worth over the month.

I’m an adjunct professor of English, my wife has her own Legal Practice. That means we are overly educated beggars. It also means our schedule sucks. She could be in a hearing two towns away, I could be in a class. And (did you think we covered the bills with that?) Both work a side retail job, she works at CVS and I work at B&N.

So how do we use Soylent? to fill in the cracks. I don’t pretend to eat organic, etc… but I do try to not use prepared food, and eat stuff cooked from scratch. Sometimes we don’t have food in the fridge or a portion fo leftovers in the freezer, so we go soylent.

So we keep a pitcher of Soylent in case we miss a meal. Or sometimes don’t want to make one, I’ll take my pitcher to work.

We try to save money, so I think that is our motivation. Are there people out there using Soylent as an occasional meal replacement?

I eat soylent for breakfast every morning, and about ½ of my lunches.

Breakfast because I’m in a hurry and it’s the fastest healthy breakfast I know.

Lunch because when I don’t have Soylent I have really unhealthy food delivered (my company covers the cost of lunch delivery food).

And I want some Soylent, because I have more more energy when I eat Soylent than when I don’t.

The two main things I was looking for from Soylent are the freedom from eating all the gross filler meals (fast food at lunch) and a healthy way to reduce my calorie intake while still getting balanced nutrition (just eating half of a McDonalds’ burger isn’t optimal). I feel that both of these have been met.