I just started!

So today is my first day using soylent. It tastes ehhh. I started with the strawberry version, is cacao better? I’m planning on drinking 2 everyday and one real food meal. What was your experience with soylent when you first started and how can I have a better time with it. Currently I’m a 16 year old male and weigh 206 pounds, I want to be at 175 within 90 days. Thanks!

This is probably going to sound unsupportive and maybe even a bit patronizing, but I assure you that my intentions are quite the opposite. As a bit of background, I’m a big fan of Soylent. I’ve done three separate 30 Day Soylent Challenges and have had PLENTY of it outside of those challenges. I’ve found Soylent to be a valuable tool for achieving nutritional and body composition goals. I am not currently consuming Soylent nor do I have any future intention of doing so, the reason for which is that I’m studying dietetics and am holding myself to higher standards.

That being said, is your goal to lose weight or to lose fat? They might seem like one and the same, but they definitely aren’t. Weight includes several things that aren’t fat, most notably muscle. You might not have any interest in adding muscle to your frame, I was certainly of that mindset once upon a time, but even a little bit can make a huge difference in how you look and feel. If you lose weight too fast, sure you’ll lose fat, but you’ll also lose muscle. If you aren’t exercising this effect will be compounded. The problem with this is that your bodyfat percentage will go down very slowly even if you are losing a lot of weight.