I'm an avid cyclist - how do I add calories and protein properly?

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Soylent, starting with 2.0. My goal from the beginning was to do 400Kcal for breakfast, eat a normal meal for lunch, and on most days do 800Kcal for dinners, unless I go out.

However, my journey started the day after I trained for and completed a 100 mile bicycle ride. The past three weeks I haven’t been as active, but I am gearing up for another 58 mile ride at the end of this month.

Here’s the thing: I’m 6’4", 250 pounds. Yes, I could stand to shed about 20 pounds, but if I am out on my bicycle for 2-3 hours I tend to burn quite a few calories. The computers and apps I use probably over estimate, so let’s just say it’s about 500Kcal for every 10 miles.

My problem is this: I know that the Soylent will give me most of the daily nutrients I need, but it won’t give me extra protein nor will it give me enough calories. And I don’t just want to drink 3 more Soylents in a day for a lot of reasons.

How do I effectively add calories and protein? Protein shakes typically contain all kinds of micronutrients.

For the extra calories: Is it as simple as eating things like Cliff Bars, Bonk Breakers, or just pasta?

For the extra protein: Is it as simple as eating something like a chicken breast, a fish filet, etc.?

I’m enjoying my experiment with Soylent so far and want to continue, but I will need to supplement it when I get into training mode.

Thanks in advance for reading and sharing any thoughts.

Personally I am consuming about 90g per day extra protein in the form of chicken breast. I use Soylent for 100% of my regular food most of the time so I am using a full bag per day. I also add 30g protein in the form of a Whey Protein Isolate powder into the mix before I add water. It is chocolate flavor so I find it adds a pleasant taste. All of this combined (v1.5 Soylent) gives me about 200g protein per day.