Is 1.4 making anyone phlegmy?

I’m new to Soylent and 1.4 is the only version I’ve ever tried. I already love it and can see it as a staple food source in my life.

But I do agree with those who describe it as “slimy.” I don’t mind it in the texture, but I find myself extremely phlegmy for several hours after I have one serving.

Anyone else experiencing anything similar?

I have 1.3 (also new to Soylent) and it does not make me phlegmy.

1.4 makes me a bit phlegmy for minutes (I think it’s the new starches), but not hours :neutral_face: Maybe drink some H2O? Thickening mucous is a sign of dehydration.

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: Hehe, I had to…

Thanks for your input. My husband is the same as you - just a little phlegmy for a little while. I drink quite a bit of water, so I doubt it’s dehydration.

I hadn’t considered the starches. I assumed it was the oils - with 40% fat, 1.4 sits in my stomach like I downed a bottle of olive oil.

Is starch a common cause of excess mucous? As far as my research has uncovered, it’s animal-derived fats (dairy, lard, butter) that causes mucous. I also get phlegmy when I eat chocolate. Maybe I’m allergic to something weird.

I think I’m going to try some DIY for the time being. Perhaps I can adjust the oil levels.

It doesn’t cause excess mucous, but it is often used as a thickener and makes fats kind of sticky.

@Solive_Soyl, are you still on the Soylent? How’s the congestion? I’ve been congested since beginning Soylent 1.4, but I’ve attributed it to regular pollen allergies, or some kind of sinus thing. I’m going to try to take the day off Soylent and see if it’s related…

I have cut back on my consumption to keep the mucous production down. It’s tolerable if I have only 6-8 oz of soylent at a time.