Losing backer to DIY

Like a lot of people in your target demographic I’m an engineer and general nerd working in tech who was fascinated by your blog and 30-day experiment. When it became clear that the lag between generation of buzz and delivery of product was going to be excessive I decided to try one of the recipes available online and have since done my own month-long trial. I have been beyond pleased with the results and enjoy the absolute control over all of the inputs.

The repeated delays and production problems have left me with low confidence in your company’s ability to continue timely deliveries once shipping finally begins.

Then there’s the final formulation of Soylent 1.0. It contains fish oil, which has a disgusting flavor. This has required you to repair the product with an artificial flavor AND and an artificial sweetener. This is EXACTLY the kind of crap many of your eager backers were looking to avoid in the first place. The assurances made that the amounts are small and that it is all in the name of balancing the flavor fall pretty flat.

I appreciate your initial work and the publicity around it. Without that there would not have been the excitement that produced the DIY recipes nor would I have considered trying this. For that much, I consider the backing money not completely wasted.

But the question remains - why should I come back?

Ease of use. Regulation. (The idea of its being open source is that people can hack on it - you’re only doing what you’re meant to!)

Why should anyone care? You seem to be happy with your choices. They were offering refunds and I don’t think that’s changed. If you still want to give Soylent 1.0 a try, go ahead. (Seriously, as a DIY’er, how could you resist if given the opportunity?)