Muscle cramps due to low sodium?

On my second day of Soylent, I went for a bike ride. I did quite a bit of sweating and after the ride I experienced a crazy amount of muscle cramps in my legs and feet. I’ve been riding for a few years and this was by comparison to “normal” rides for me not very long or strenuous, yet I was cramped up like I had just done a century in 100 degree heat. I’m thinking that the low sodium levels in Soylent may have been the cause and am planning on supplementing this going forward. I don’t believe I normally get a lot of potassium, so I don’t believe the problem is there because I don’t normally cramp so easily. Also, even though my energy level was better than normal all day before the ride, within minutes in the saddle, I was dragging. This part is easily explained by lower calorie intake than normal and I think I can solve that part by simply drinking more.

Has anyone had similar experiences that were resolved through sodium supplements?

By day 2 I was having muscle cramps. Resolved by increasing Magnesium, Calcium, water, and D3 per Doctor Oz.

Yikes. I had a similar question in another thread. I compete in beach volleyball which is all day in the sun & sand. I sweat out 5 lbs minimum on a hot day & cramping is a concern on 90+ degree days with a regular diet. Would I have to heavily suppliment Soylent in those cases??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low_sodium_diet says:
“The human minimum requirement for sodium in the diet is about 500 mg per day”

From the label:
45% of daily intake for Sodium (3 x %15 for each serving)
350mg per serving = 350 x 3 = 1050mg (daily)
So this is twice the minimum requirement.
Should the 45% be changed to 100%?

Thanks for posting the label. The U.S. Gov. RDI for my group is 1500 mg sodium per day. I don’t really know what they are basing 45 percent on. Good question.

Things like this is exactly why they need to have different formulations to suit different needs, IMO.