My journey on Soylent

I’m a new user to Soylent. I found out about this product searching for “meal replacement” shakes. I watched a few video reviews and decided to order a week supply.

I’m a full time engineering student with a part time internship. I am constantly pressed for time which leads me to eat out and buy snacks daily. I know I can cook at home more, but the only thing I hate more than cooking is shopping at the grocery store. So I decided to try Soylent as a way to have a completely balanced meal in the morning and on the go when I am running from school to work. I do plan on eating “solid” food (homecooked) a few times per week to add variety. I may eventually go to 100% Soylent, but for now I plan on about 80/20 split.

I have only tried 1.4 so I dont know what previous versions were like, but I think Soylent is working out to be a good fit for me. My initial impressions of Soylent 1.4:

-Soylent is NOT bad tasting. I chug Muscle Milk daily and Soylent is just as good, if not better, imo.

-It tastes like diluted oatmeal. Sort of like maple brown sugar oatmeal with butter and then blending with milk until it is the consistency of a protein shake. I love oatmeal so the taste works for me. It does get a little slimy after 24 hours in the fridge, but Muscle Milk is far worse in that regard.

-The 48 hour batch life (refrigerated) makes a full batch excessive considering I still mix in regular food. Soylent isnt overly expensive, but I would hate to have to throw out part of a batch. I’m on day 3, but just finishing my 2nd bag to give you an idea of how fast I go through it.

-Soylent is filling. I am a pretty big guy myself so I questioned the ability of a liquefied “food” like Soylent to fill me up. It does. A 20 oz glass of Soylent leaves me completely stuffed. I question anyone who says otherwise. If someone isn’t full after a tall glass of this heavy, dense fluid, my suspicions are that they are mentally unsatisfied, not physically.