My soylent-only experiment during the pandemic

First some background. I’ve been consuming Soylent since late 2014. I’ve never been a big consumer by volume and the last couple years my routine has been 1 box of powder (7 days worth) and 1 box of bottles (2.4 days worth) ordered three times per year (with a “days worth” being 2,000 calories of course). So the math tells you that’s 9.4 x 3 = 28.2 days worth per year, or 7-8%. (Plus whatever I can easily buy locally off Craig’s List, which the last couple years hasn’t been much.)

I got my latest deliveries in mid-May. (I sync it up so I get both deliveries at the same time.) But I had to eat down my real food stores before I could start my new Soylent. And in the meantime I saw the promo for Bucket in late May, which was so great I just had to buy it. Bucket is 20 days worth.

So it was late May, I had my two Soylent orders from mid-May that I hadn’t started yet and I had Bucket on the way so I had a lot of Soylent consuming to do. I was finally eating down my stores of real food so I decided that on June 1, by which time I’d have no perishable food left, I’d try doing Soylent only. The fact that I’m working from home made it easier.

I did something that in retrospect I think made the whole experiment much more successful. Instead of making a pitcher and committing to consuming 2,000 calories within 48-ish hours, I made a smaller amount. I have two plastic quart containers with screw on tops. I opened a bag of Soylent and dumped it in one of the plastic containers. It almost filled the container. And then I dumped some (maybe 500-600 calories worth) into the other plastic container, added water, screwed the top on and shook it up and put it in the fridge.