Need help with search for gluten free carb source (the Netherlands, Europe)


#1

Hello,

I’m from the Netherlands (Europe) and I’m looking for a good gluten free carbohydrate source. I have my personal Soylent recipe almost ready, but I’m still searching for the right carbohydrate, (multi) vitamin and mineral source.
This was my first pick as carb source:
http://www.bulkpowders.co.uk/ultra-fine-scottish-oats.html

But after contacting that web shop it has proven to contain gluten. Than I googled for a gluten free carb source and I found that oat flower should be gluten free. Which let me to this product:

I also contacted them to ask if this product is gluten free, but I haven’t received a response yet. I also found a lot of contradictions about whether oats contain gluten or not. Some sources say oats contain gluten and some say oats could contain gluten due to (cross) contamination.

I have a lot of health problems due to chronic illnesses and food intolerance’s/allergies. I don’t have celiac disease so I might be able to endure the slightest of gluten contamination.

As I’m sure there are plenty people with food intolerance’s and allergies on this community, there must be a few people here who can help me out. Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks in advance


#2

Oats do not naturally contain gluten. However, they are normally processed in non-GF plants, leading to cross-contamination.
You simply have to find a gluten-free processing source (one that doesn’t also process wheat, barley, rye, etc.)

I’m gluten sensitive, but I haven’t reacted to food that says “processed in a facility that also processes wheat”, so you may be okay regardless.


#3

Thank you for your reaction benkenobiwan

I don’t know if I’m just gluten sensitive, but also not allergic in the way people with celiac disease are. An interesting reaction from bulkpowders.co.uk though:

“We can confirm that the Maltodextrin does not contain gluten however the Oats do contain gluten. The oats do not contain gluten they contain a protein which contains gluten.”

“The product team have confirmed that Avenin is the protein. The Whey Isolate 97% is gluten free.”

Myprotein.com responded:

“I can advise that both the Instant Oats and the Maltodextrin are both gluten free. However, due to these being manufactured in a facility that handles items containing gluten, it is not guaranteed there is not a trace.”

So I choose (chose?) for myprotein.com, also because they were slightly cheaper.


#4

Many people are mistakenly diagnosed as “gluten intolerant” when they are actually allergic to grasses, which include oats, corn, sorghum, sugar cane, etc.


#5

Thanks for the reply Isa. I had all an round blood food allergy/intolerance test and one of those intolerance’s was gluten. I also have fructose malabsorption, which already makes me intolerant to corn and sugar. I never heard of a grass (?) intolerance, but since I can’t tolerate the oats you might be right. Until now I haven’t found a carb source which my bowels can handle. So I’m eating solid food for my carbs like rice and noodles. To bad, because I really wanted to make liquid food my whole food source so to speak.


#6

What about rice flour, quinoa flour or amaranth flour? I don’t know whether they would need to be soaked in hot water before use though. I suppose you could always puree cooked brown rice with some of the liquid or oil that you add to the shake, which would give you some fibre too.