New bottle Cacao tastes different

TLDR version:
New round bottle Cacao soylent tastes different with a bad aftertaste. Did something change other than the bottle?

Long version:
I opened my first box containing the new bottles. I do agree they are more of a hassle than the square bottles and I understand why so I can deal with it. I do appreciate the new top style as the square bottles were so hard to open I’d actually hurt my wrist from opening one every single morning.

I digress. This morning I cracked into my first of the new bottles. I have been drinking Soylent for a couple years now, and almost solely Cacao since it came out. Yesterday I literally drank two square bottles – one from my fridge in the morning and then one at room temp at my desk in the afternoon. Today I opened a new bottle from my fridge and I am dissatisfied to find that the taste has changed, including (or attributing to) a bad aftertaste.

I’m terrible at descriptions, but I want to say the taste while drinking is like plastic and the aftertaste is simply sour and has stayed in my mouth for the last hour. Reminds me of when you let water sit in a bottle too long the water ends up tasting gross. But that can’t be it, something that has a year shelf life should take quite awhile before it starts to taste weird. Sure this pack has sat at room temp in my kitchen for a month, but I never had issues with one or even two month old packs of the square bottles (or even the prior round bottles). Unless the ingredients or the bottle plastic makeup has changed drastically enough to cause this effect. Maybe the change from super hard twistoff cap to foil cover is allowing some kind of particle transfer.

I realize the need to get soylent out there now that you’re playing with the big boys, but don’t sacrifice all the good you’ve done thus far just for the bigger market you’re getting into.