Optimizing Blood Glucose Response

So, we seem to have a lot of control over the carb sources we use and the burn rate with our fat and fiber control. Has anyone thought about optimizing their recipe by monitoring their blood glucose? I have a meter and I’ve been spot checking my numbers to make sure they look normal and healthy, but the thought of optimizing what the “curve” looks like came to mind and making sure I don’t spike too quickly, while not feeling run-down.

A continuous glucose monitor would be nifty for this but they seem to run $1500 unless insurance covers the cost. I have to admit I have little knowledge in this arena, but I’m interested in learning the science and would love to use that knowledge to “optimize” my ingredients as much as possible to provide a healthy glucose response to my formula.

Looking for info, ideas, feedback, suggestions, etc.

In the light of my CRON knowledge and experience, I too was concerned about this issue, particularly when I saw people trying to deal with the maltodextrin and experiencing rushes, crashes and the like. I don’t own a monitor, have resisted thus far the intensive quantified-self approach that seems to suck a lot of CRONies into what I feel is an unhealthy preoccupation with their own biomarkers.