Possible Spam Issue?

It’s been 48 hours since I used my well guarded email address to sign up for this Beta program and my inbox is FLOODED with spam. I have several other accounts for signing up for things, even ordering online I usually use a throwaway account. But since I thought this beta thing should be tied to my soylent order email, I hesitantly used that email. Giant mistake.

That’s weird. I signed up as soon as it was posted, but haven’t received any spam. Could it be your email provider? I used to get tons of stuff back when I used Yahoo.

3 Likes

I’ve received six spam emails since I signed up on Wednesday, but I’ve been using this email address for eleven years. I don’t normally check my spam folder, but a quick glance shows that I have received between 1-7 spam emails per day for the past 30 days. Six would be on the high side for a single day, but I signed up 56 hours ago.

I’m also curious what “FLOODED with spam” means these days. I used to get a ton more (at the same email address!).

Fun fact: All six are selling erectile dysfunction pills, penis enlargement devices, or both!

Actually, I just realized I have a separate “well-guarded” email (in the sense that I never use it or receive any email at it). I will sacrifice it in the name of science!

I’m all signed up. I’ll report back when or if I start getting spam at that address!

6 Likes

You guys should check your spam folders more often, there could be hidden gems in there. I found a letter from a Nigerian prince, he’s going to fill my bank account with money. You snooze, you lose, suckers!

10 Likes

I must just have a really good spam filter or something; I hardly ever receive spam in my inbox. Like once a month at most.

1 Like

So far no spam

I’ve had the same publically available email address from Yahoo for 20 years or so and there has not been an increase of spam since I signed up for the beta project.