Possible Spam Issue?

It’s been 48 hours since I used my well guarded email address to sign up for this Beta program and my inbox is FLOODED with spam. I have several other accounts for signing up for things, even ordering online I usually use a throwaway account. But since I thought this beta thing should be tied to my soylent order email, I hesitantly used that email. Giant mistake.

That’s weird. I signed up as soon as it was posted, but haven’t received any spam. Could it be your email provider? I used to get tons of stuff back when I used Yahoo.

I’ve received six spam emails since I signed up on Wednesday, but I’ve been using this email address for eleven years. I don’t normally check my spam folder, but a quick glance shows that I have received between 1-7 spam emails per day for the past 30 days. Six would be on the high side for a single day, but I signed up 56 hours ago.

I’m also curious what “FLOODED with spam” means these days. I used to get a ton more (at the same email address!).

Fun fact: All six are selling erectile dysfunction pills, penis enlargement devices, or both!

Actually, I just realized I have a separate “well-guarded” email (in the sense that I never use it or receive any email at it). I will sacrifice it in the name of science!

I’m all signed up. I’ll report back when or if I start getting spam at that address!

You guys should check your spam folders more often, there could be hidden gems in there. I found a letter from a Nigerian prince, he’s going to fill my bank account with money. You snooze, you lose, suckers!

I must just have a really good spam filter or something; I hardly ever receive spam in my inbox. Like once a month at most.

So far no spam

I’ve had the same publically available email address from Yahoo for 20 years or so and there has not been an increase of spam since I signed up for the beta project.