Production questions

Continuing the discussion from Production Updates?!:

Specific questions for @rob or @JulioMiles: Is the final sample approved? Are the new ingredients ordered? What is the new macro/micro breakdown? Does the old production timeline from 10/25 (procurement, testing, blending, packaging, QA) hold? Where are we in that timeline?

+1 on the macronutrient breakdown. I’m curious to see how the reduction of oat-flour was compensated for - assuming ingredients are finalized. How did you keep the carb / fat / protein ratio the same, how did it affect calories, etc.

The sample is approved. The macronutrient ratio and calories are the same. We compensated a minor oat flour reduction with maltodextrin, rice protein, and canola oil in order to keep said ratio. We are on schedule to begin shipments in late February.

What will take the oat flour's place?

Good stuff guys! I worked in manufacturing for around 10 years, several of those in food manufacture for a major snack food company with very tight quality controls. To get something like this off the ground at the production stage, especially when keeping the manufacturing process uniform, consistent and controlled, is a massive undertaking. Again, good work!

Great – thank you. Can you update us on the latest / final amounts of oat flour, maltodextrin, rice protein, and canola oil amounts (versus the original 210g, 132g, 102g, and 56g, respectively)?

I’m attempting to track it here, and I’m confident that others will be interested as well:
http://diy.soylent.me/recipes/quidnycs-overly-faithful-diy-rendition-of-the-official-soylent

And any hints about when we may get your hotly anticipated “fiber post” (with details on xanthan gum and gum acacia)?

Many thanks!

If the sample was approved and you placed the order ~3 weeks ago in mid December, why wasn’t the production update written 3 weeks ago?

Something that must be an oversight for you guys:

https://campaign.soylent.me/soylent-free-your-body