Sociology project on Soylent: want to help me out by answering some questions?

Hi there! I’m a college student, and I chose to write a final research paper focusing on Soylent. If you’re willing to answer these questions, I would be incredibly grateful (and if you don’t want to answer them all, I’d still appreciate the ones you can!).

1. What made you decide to try Soylent?

2. Why did you choose Soylent over alternative types of meal supplements?

3. Have you gone longer than a week eating just Soylent? (if you meant to, but ate food accidentally, I still count this and would like to know!)

4. If you did, how long did you do it for, and what made you stop?

5. What, if any, health changes have you noticed because of Soylent? (e.g., do you feel more alert, has your weight changed, etc.)

6. Do you tell your friends, families, or coworkers about Soylent?

7. Do you feel socially isolated when you eat Soylent for meals?

8. Including this one, what online Soylent communities do you visit?

9. What do you use them for? (recipe ideas, to discuss taste changes, etc.)

10. Do you feel like you have power to direct or influence the product’s development?

11. Do you pay attention to the specific nutrient changes in formula for new versions?

12. Rob Rhinehart says he believes the future will have Soylent coming out of the tap. Do you believe this? Do you have any vision for how Soylent could be used in a larger context?

Thank you so much for your help! If you have any questions about this, don’t hesitate to ask. I’m just trying to get as much data about Soylent as possible. :slight_smile:

First, a question for you. Is sociology your major?

My dad has his masters in it and as a consequence I’ve always been drawn to the subject. If it is your major, that’s awesome! If it isn’t, well, it’s still awesome that you picked the class. Okay, now your questions.