SoyHD Recipe - opinions?

http://diy.soylent.me/recipes/soyhd

Hi there! Here is my recipe, after a great deal of tweaking I’m almost ready to begin a trial. Apart from a somewhat high chloride level, it has a nice low cost and my preliminary test with the main basic ingredients tasted great! It just seems too good to be true, so I’d greatly appreciate some input on this.

I’m considering taking down the levels of Lo Salt and finding other sources to better balance the sodium and potassium levels. What do you think?

Here are my thoughts (I am not a medical professional, just a keyboard warrior. Take all of this info with a grain of Lo Salt).

1. Lo Salt contains a minimum of 66% Potassium Cloride (KCl)
  2. KCl is also sold as a medicine (Potassium supplement)
  3. It’s sold in 600mg (8mEq) or 750mg (10mEq) extended release tablets, with daily doses ranging from ~20-100mEq.
  4. Your recipe calls for 11g of Lo Salt, which is at least 7260mg KCl
  5. Your recipe falls just shy (96.8%) of the maximum daily dose.
  6. The side-effects and overdose symptoms sound pretty nasty.
  7. Please don’t drink this stuff. You’ll hurt yourself.

[EDIT] And yet, the numbers do check out. It just seems weird that that only a couple times the daily requirement of KCl is prescribed to people with the most severe Potassium deficiencies. shrug Good luck with your trials.

Thank you very much for your input! Very fair point, so I’ve made some tweaks.

Lo Salt down to 5g (from 11g)
Regular salt added 2g (to increase Sodium content)
Potassium Gluconate added 6g (to increase Potassium content)

This all seems a lot more reasonable. You’re right, it was odd that it seemed to add up before but I think it was still prudent to alter a little bit (or was it? anyone else?). I’ll definitely make sure some of these finer points are better researched before I take the plunge.

So, how does this all look now? Is there something drastic I’m overlooking regarding potassium content? Thank you!