Soylent bug tracker (à la bugzilla)

As a software engineer, I know that I’m much more likely to succeed at diagnosing problems when all of the necessary information is right in front of me. @rob, @mattcauble, and others on the Soylent team can probably attest to that.

Soylent has stood out as drawing certain analogies to software development in its terminology (beta testing, products referred to with version numbers, etc). In this sense, Soylent has completely changed the discussion around food and invited engineers to apply some of their tools and techniques to an entirely different domain.

I propose that the Soylent development team start an official bug tracker, on http://bugs.soylent.me or something of the like. An existing bug-tracking platform can be utilized, as there are many open-source options available (such as bugzilla). That way, users can provide structured feedback and cut down on duplication where possible.

In some cases, it may also be useful to have certain required fields, such as what percentage of a person’s diet is Soylent, how old they are, weight, height, etc. Attachments would also be necessary as some people in the QS movement may have invaluable data to provide for the team.

Obviously, there will be certain privacy considerations involved. My thought is that some people may want to selectively suppress certain fields or attachments, which they may feel uncomfortable sharing with the world at large and only intend the Soylent team to review.

In spite of the obvious challenges, I think that the engineering approach to food is something that makes Soylent stand out, and draws many in the IT and scientific fields towards Soylent in the first place. A bug tracker is a natural application of that idea and will continue on the path towards refinement and the ideal eating experience.

Might want to use the url bugzilla.soylent.me to avoid any bug related confusion.