Soylent early adopters - experience & tips

This is a topic for sharing experience with our own custom-made Soylent.

It’s not a how-to, this assumes we’ve already taken on the responsibility and had the knowledge to roll our own. (I’m just being careful here, since Rob is being careful, also he’ll be launching his Kickstarter soon.)

I’ve been on my own Soylent for 3 weeks now, and it’s going excellent, although there were a few things to address. I wanted to point out some info on olive oils to begin.

In my experience if you’re in the states you want an olive oil made in California, not imported from Italy. You also want it in a dark container. Since we’re drinking this stuff daily, quality is important. The bit about California is partly due to articles like this: http://articles.latimes.com/2010/jul/15/business/la-fi-olive-oil-20100715 California olive oil seems to be safer purity wise. I’m not an expert on olive oil (yet) but “first cold press” on the label is also a good thing.

I’ve been using Badia brand evoo for the last couple weeks. It comes in 1 liter bottles and works very well in my opinion.

Any tricks on homogenizing the oil into your solutions?

Ok! So my experiences! I’ve been doing it for a little more than a week and so far I’m having good ones as well as bad ones.

The good part:

1. I feel healthier. I don’t feel so tired as I used to feel.

2. My skin looks better.

3. The time and money saved is making me really happy. Specially the time.

The bad part:

1. I can’t seem to find an appropriate source of fat. I tried using olive oil as Rob suggested but it just tastes awful, even just a little. I guess I just hate the taste of olive oil. Any suggestions on accessible replacements?