Soylent for Anorexia?

I wonder if anyone has any thoughts on Soylent as part of a treatment regimen for folks afflicted with anorexia?

I’m no expert, but the few anorexics I have known are obsessive about food, and not in a good way–food is the enemy. I guess I see Soylent as a possible way of “sneaking” nutrition in under the radar of the anorexic’s worldview. Meaning, it reduces the whole unpleasant experience of dealing with food to as quick and neutral an experience as possible. Also, it packs a lot of balanced nutrition into a small serving, so if all you can handle or allow yourself is a few gulps, you’ll probably get more and better calories in a glug of soylent than half a tortilla chip or a stalk of celery or whatever. It may be sneaky at giving you more food than you think you’re getting, which is exactly the point when you’re trying to circumvent the haywire calorie patrolman that anorexics impose on themselves.

Another strategy might be to try to frame Soylent as a punishment. Anorexics like to punish themselves with food, in my experience. In fact, anorexics are more demanding of and harder on themselves than about anybody I’ve known–so anything that looks like Spartan self-denial and self-discipline appeals. Soylent has some Spartan aspects, for sure. It’s certainly not cake. If one could just somehow get anorexics to think of Soylent like rice cakes–which have almost no calories or nutritional value, and taste like cardboard–then one might gain some acceptance. One possibility would be to re-brand it and advertise that is has half or a third the calories that it actually does. And make it taste a lot worse. Hard to keep the secret, I suppose.

This topic is already being discussed.