Soylent Ingredient Breakdown from a Food Scientist

Are we sure he’s a real food scientist? At first glance, he seems to think isomaltulose is identical to table sugar. I’m not a food scientist and I know that’s wrong. Actually, the entire article seems superficial.

1.5 is old news, it’s not even on the market anymore. :slight_smile:

It always interests me that people think we started as one massive highly organized marketing scheme. He is right about the beets though. Sadly we could not source a good image of a sugar beet to use.

I’m always annoyed by people who try to say that Ensure and all those did it first. They did – but unless they’ve changed a lot in the last couple of years, they all seem to be pretty nutritionally unbalanced; hardly something I’d want to use for 100% of my calories. Otoh, I think the Atkins drink may come closest to a decent non-medical predecessor of Soylent, and I never see it mentioned. (I could be misremembering on that though, it’s been years since I even glanced at anything Atkinds.)

As a kid, I daydreamed about living on Metri-cal, maybe plus Tang, the new powdered orange drink. Maybe I was already looking for Soylent.

I posted a correction which he upvoted, but didn’t edit his article. Strange. Anyway now I have two cents from that website so I have finally literally acquired my two cents.

He also incorrectly believes maltodextrin makes drinks sweet.

Couldn’t you just buy a sugar beet and take a picture of it?

Not for sale in many areas.

If you’re in the right farming country, sure, or if people bring it in for baiting deer… But I don’t see them at groceries.

(Also, they’re ugly compared to regular red beets.)

You can’t take a photo of a dude getting a beet-stash, so it’s against hipster union rules.

That’s what the Internet is for.

Here ya go. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: