Soylent nutrition concerns

playing devil’s advocate here with myself and my wife’s questions and concerns regarding soylent. i don’t mean for this to sound argumentative or negative, but i am really looking for answers. looking at the diy recipes i realize i am oversimplifying, but what is the difference or the real breakthrough between soylent and people just consuming some kind of filler with flavoring and vitamin pills crushed in? my wife thinks soylent has to have inadequate nutrition because it isn’t green/alive/whole food. how well does our body absorb crushed vitamins vs. whole foods with their spectrum of micronutrients? would there be a benefit to adding a chlorophyll/algae/seaweed supplement?

i look forward to continued worldwide research on and experimentation with soylent and longer-term results/studies.
thank you for any thoughtful input,
joe

I’m not an expert on this stuff, but with pills you are going to be getting stuff that you aren’t taking the pill for. That coating is made up of stuff. Powder is more pure. I’d say Soylent is a lot more convenient than popping a bunch of pills as well.