Soylent Trademark Approval and Notional Packaging

It looks like the Soylent trademark has finally reached the final steps of becoming official. It has now entered publication for 30 days to see if anyone objects to the trademark. If nobody objects, 12 weeks from now (around the 13th of feb). Interestingly, this will likely be after Soylent has actually arrived to some customers, and regardless, one could argue Soylent has been being sold since the Kickstarter ended.

I’m no patent lawyer, but I believe this would qualify as being currently in use, and as such would mean the mark is registered after the 12 week wait. Otherwise, it will be another 16 more as they’ll have to file usage get the usage approved and get it registered afterwards.

Kind of a boring topic, but its interesting watching the process, here’s some eye candy from their application for clicking on the thread:

Interesting that bag says “4 meals.” Probably just a mockup rendering though. See this is more interesting than the current official blog… which contains no updates whatsoever :wink:

Apparently before approval the application had to be amended to identify “nutritional products containing soy.” In order to avoid a ‘misleading mark’ problem. I wonder if that means soy will have to be added, or if it’s just administrative.

This is quite interesting. Do you have a link to the source paper? O some more pictures and information ?

@JulioMiles How are we going to get 1 meal out of that bag? Does it come with a scoop or do we eye it?

@JulioMiles, did they really require soy to be added because the name “Soylent” would otherwise be considered misleading? If that’s the case, why aren’t lentils also required? Or “people”, for that matter?

They always said there would be soy lecithin as an emulsifier, so I don’t see why they would need to hide it.

@ruipacheco We’re going to be including a scoop.