Symptoms of B12 deficiency

I am a soylent newbie. I’ve been drinking my 1.4 for about 80% of my diet for the last 9 days. Two days ago I had pain that went from my lower back down to my right hamstring. It progressively got worse to the point that it was difficult for my so sit or stand. I took pain killers and went to bed. The next day I felt a little better. While talking to some friends they said it sounded like sciatic nerve pain and that I needed vitamin b12. Since I was feeling a little better I bought b12 but didn’t take it yet. Then later that night I noticed that my heartbeat was rapid as well as my breathing. I started freaking out and had a mini panic attack. After more research I started thinking that B12 really might be the issue.

It’s quite possible that I didn’t have high b12 levels before soylent. It’s possible that this isn’t a b12 issue at all. I’m not a doctor and I haven’t had my blood levels checked. But I do know that after I started supplementing with b12 my issues have gone away. I’ve never had sciatic nerve pain in my life. I’ve never had rapid heartbeats and heavy breathing out of the blue. It was 97 bpm which is on the high side of normal but i could feel it in my chest. A very scary thing.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Heart palpitations can be due to:

Anxiety, stress, panic attack, or fear
Caffeine intake
Nicotine intake
Cocaine or other illegal drugs
Diet pills
Exercise
Fever

Always contact your doctor for medical advice never your friends (unless they are in fact doctors)

Actual Symptoms of B12 deficiencey

Symptoms can include:

Diarrhea or constipation
Fatigue, lack of energy, or light-headedness when standing up or with exertion
Loss of appetite
Pale skin
Problems concentrating
Shortness of breath, mostly during exercise
Swollen, red tongue or bleeding gums
If you have low vitamin B12 level for a long time, you can have nerve damage. Symptoms of nerve damage include: