The college market

I explored/skimmed topics related to retail, having not been to this site very often the past year or so. (I do kind of miss it, I must say.) I did not find much directly related to the post I’m about to make, but if I this is in fact something under discussion already, I apologize and invite moderators to move this post to the appropriate thread.

As a professor, I have direct, extended experience with college students. I know that there are college students on this discussion board, and perhaps they can react to my observations here. I see the college student/grad student demographic as a gigantic, natural, and largely untapped market for Soylent. College students, near as I can tell, are always hungry, and they are not especially gifted at cooking, interested in cooking, reliably with access or the space to cook (especially if they are in classes all day). Nor do they have the time to cook, or in any other way as easily able to interface with the cooking experience as most people. So they eat out. A lot, especially fast food. Fast food is relatively cheap (but not as cheap as Ramen noodles, tuna fish, or other common alternatives I am used to seeing and hearing about), quick, and gets the job done. That’s the appeal, and while college students usually remain skeptical about the long-term consequences of their dietary choices–I know I was, too, at their age–because they don’t see the results the way they will in 15 years, I believe they would prefer reliable access to equivalently priced and satisfying healthy alternatives.