They dropped the price! *Happy dance*

Hey hey, they did it! Down to $54 a week, $216 a month for powdered 1.5!

Is there any way to save money on recurring charge/subscription?
Log your opinions of v2.0 here
Soylent 2.0: Use Less. Do More

Holy crap, I’m not good at math but is it down to $7.70 per day?

Thank you based Rob. I don’t know if it’s due to the increased competition they were seeing, but I’m happy nonetheless. No doubt some people will complain about having ordered their shipment yesterday though. :open_mouth:

Just after I paid to start my subscription this morning at $350 for 35 bags.

Maybe now all the people who were complaining about pricing can quit their belly-aching.

My belly-aching will never end (I’m a consumer – cheaper is better), but this is really phenomenal. $24 bellow the low cost plan for single men, for a product as valuable as this, is something I never thought I’d see before hearing about Soylent.

And that’s with shipping included, and minimal prep/cooking time, which puts the effective cost down around the lowest “thrifty” plan. Very good.

And this nugget from the official blog post on the price drop:

Soylent powder now permanently costs 23% less

(emphasis mine)
So this is a thing, it’ll only go down in price from here, they’re not gonna raise it again. Welcome to the future of food.

So the “permanently” doesn’t apply to future price drops I hope

It’s just their way of saying that 2.0 and a few subsequent versions will maintain a lower price.

It’s protection against naysayers saying this is just to kill old stock, or a temporary marketing move, or whatever.

Obviously they cannot predict the economics that will dictate their price in 20 years…

Yeah, permanently doesn’t mean forever in this context; that would be nonsensical. They mean permanently in the sense of indefinitely, but that doesn’t sound as nice: “Soylent powder now indefinitely costs 23% less.”