Thoughts on 1.5

I started Soylent on 1.4, so this is my first time changing to a new version. I have seen a lot of people complaining that they thought that 1.4 was too sweet, and if 1.5 is any indication of what it used to taste like I can see why they said that. It tastes like I am drinking water that was served out of a glass that someone drank 1.4 out of without being cleaned. It is very, very bland. It is also about half the thickness in regards to viscous as well. It makes me wonder how long it will make me feel satiated between meals. I am just starting out on this, so I suppose I will see, but I am a bit concerned about the changes. The loud vocal minority who were complaining that it was too sweet seems to have swayed Rosa Labs to them making this as bland and tasteless as possible. There also seems to be quite a bit of an aftertaste too. It’s not very pleasant.

I don’t believe I ever heard anyone say 1.4 was too sweet, just that they did not like the flavor of 1.4.

They did try to make 1.5 more neutral tasting to appeal to a wider amount of people. It sounds like by what you are saying that you agree it is more bland.

I would encourage you to look at some of the threads on flavoring Soylent and try to flavor it to make it more palatable. People have had good luck with chocolate and peanut butter, along with many other things.

It’s funny, I have lurked this thread for quite a while. I like the community here and everyone is very helpful. I ordered chocolate and peanut butter flavoring that I saw people recommended, but perhaps because 1.4 did not have as neutral of a flavor profile, I preferred it without it. After trying 1.5, I thought about trying the powders again and seeing how it would fare with the more neutral flavor of 1.5. Hopefully it mitigates the aftertaste somewhat. Thanks for your advice though. I love how everyone here is so solution oriented.