Through The Wire - 6 Weeks Of Full Soylent Diet

Through The Wire is a song Kanye West wrote after a car accident back in 2002 where he subsequently had his jaw wired shut for a long period of time. In this song, he illustrated a comedic account of his difficult experience with the recovery following a reconstructive jaw surgery. It was the worst thing that could’ve happened to him, yet also the best thing as the song later became a hit debut single release paving his way to fame. It was a story of how life beat him down where everyone thought he could no longer rap, but he persisted nonetheless. And though I’m not Kanye West, nor do I rap for a living, I can relate to his experience as I recently had gone through a similar surgery. A double jaw surgery they call it, where an orthognathic surgeon would break the upper and lower jaw to re-position the jaw to a normal bite. In my case, I had a severe underbite with a shocking 15 mm gap between the top and lower teeth! The surgeon accounted 5 of every 6 patients do it for cosmetic reasons (even though they still get medically insured). I however needed it badly as such severity negatively affects various functions like breathing, eating, speech, and facial gestures. So for the past few months, I have been living through the wire.

Like Kanye, I had to go through a restricted diet while the jaw bones fully heal. The song accounts for his diet, which consists of Ensure nutrition drinks. Fortunately it was 2018, and I had Soylent instead.

What was it like to drink only Soylent everyday for 6 weeks?