Type 2 Diabetic Who Travels 75%+

Hi all, I wanted to share my experiences with Soylent as someone who travels, is diabetic and is trying to lose weight.

First off, a little bit about me:
I work in health care and I travel a little over 75% for work which puts me on the road 5 days a week, every week.

I’m 39 years old, currently a T2D with an A1C of 7.8 (up from 6.8 six months ago). I use insulin as well as Metformin. I am 6’0 and weigh 291 although I carry the weight very well, but would love to get down to the 240-250 range.

Here’s my latest lipid panel which I had performed on January 26th right before I started Soylent:

So I have reached a point in my life where making decisions about what to eat is really stressful and I have found that I have a physiological and psychological addiction to food. Everything I do centers around food and that’s not a good thing. Some people have the urge to smoke a cigarette just because it’s something to put into their mouth? That’s me with food. Whether or not I’m hungry, I’ll eat. It’s just something to do. I have to break this addiction. And then I started looking at the amount of medication I’m taking each morning and it just made me sad and want to change it:

In order from left to right:

1. Lisinopril (blood pressure and kidney protection)
  2. Prilosec for GERD (wanting to test and see if this goes away with 100% Soylent usage)
  3. Prozac (It’s rough here in Minnesota. The winters are super depressing. I only use it from November to March)
  4. Metformin
  5. Amlodipine (blood pressure and kidney protection)
  6. Simvastatin (cholesterol)

And then there’s my insulin. Humalog is normal for a diabetic but it’s the Toujeo that I need to reduce. It’s just Lantus/Levemir, only it’s U300 which means I am using about 65 units (195 normal units) each night for my basal insulin. That’s a lot. But I still wake up with high blood sugar, usually around 250.