What have you done to yourself? (Self-experimentation)

Continuing the discussion from 400 lb 65 y/o Type II Diabetic & life long food addict, Soylent effects Miraculous:

No, I wasn’t taking chemo. But starting my Extended Fasts (72 hours) was prompted by reading research which was originally related to looking at why fasting making chemo more tolerable. I’ve been doing an EF once every three to four weeks since July of 2014.

A few of my dietary experiments where about weight loss/gain. Most of them are about health and longevity - with a particular emphasis on the longevity.

Other things I’ve guinea-pigged myself on:

• Going vegan - back in 1991, or so. (I’ve gradually added back eggs, dairy, fish, and poultry, in that order, over time. I never added back (and never will add back) mammal meats. I don’t tolerate dairy well, but I don’t cut it out completely.) This was done for health reasons - I was diagnosed hypertensive, reversed it with diet changes, and reintroduced things over the course of the next fifteen years. Have healthy blood pressure, still.
  • PSMF - Protein Sparing Modified Fast, as far back as 2001, I think. This was for fat loss.
  • ADF - Alternate Day Fasting. For longevity.
  • UD 2.0 - this was a CKD, a cyclical ketogenic diet. This was about muscle gain and fat loss with weekly cycles.
  • ADPSMF - instead of alternate day fasting, alternate day PSMFing. For longevity.
  • Periodic Fasting - for about a year, I fasted for one day every week, with a few exceptions. For longevity.
  • Periodic EF - what I do now, an extended fast every three to four weeks. For longevity.

I also have tried Soylent (mostly 1.1, if I recall), and have been doing several different Schmoylent-based DIY formulas since starting, back in July of 2014.