Why are programmers so interested in Soylent?

It seems really popular among software developers.

Big surprise, I’m a software developer.

http://www.Soylentquest.com is the website I created for myself from scratch… (software developer)…

Haha well are you a web developer?
I spend a lot of time developing with VBA in Excel so I take a lot of offense to the term “cumbersome spreadsheets” on your website lol.

I can’t speak for others, but for my part, I appreciate efficiency efficacy effordability and I’m not afraid of new things.

Also I’m lazy.

My from-the-hip guess is that we’re problem solvers, with a very broad definition to the word ‘problem’

We look at systems, patterns, and behaviors, and then try to deconstruct them to their core components. From there we can throw out what’s inefficient, create anew entirely from the ashes (if it was an especially violent deconstruction in the case of hardware), and tinker and tweak, and twiddle to get something we feel is ‘better,’ or just… unique for us. Anyone who says developers are lacking creativity has obviously never viewed a piece of code as interacting lego bricks, me thinks. Hell, we even get a kick out of screwing up, because we always see it as a learning experience (shit!.. wait, what happened? digdigdig).

Personally, I love the fact that I am Hacking My Body (by second degree), and having a helluva lot of fun doing it. Spent weeks tweaking and learning about my formula just so I could get something I felt was right, and then be proven dreadfully wrong in the first few days. Over three weeks later, I can’t fathom quitting, and most likely I’ll never be done tweaking (I’ve yet to really dive into flavoring).

I suppose web developer is a fairly apt description. I can program java/c++/etc for desktops as well - but my day job is C# and MSSQL.